Happy Hooligans Honor the Best of the Best

  • Published
  • 119th Wing

The North Dakota Air National Guard’s 119th Wing, recognized the organization’s top officers, noncommissioned officers and Airmen of the Year on March 4, during a ceremony at the Hilton Garden Inn, Fargo, N.D.

Airmen were nominated for the awards based on their military and civic service throughout 2022. The Outstanding Airman Program annually recognizes officers and enlisted members for superior leadership, job performance, community involvement, and personal achievements.

Top honors went to Maj. Daniel Sly for Company Grade Officer, 1st Lt. Cody Chick in the Field Grade Officer category, Senior Non-Commissioned Officer (NCO) honors went to Senior Master Sgt. Erica Carruth, Master Sgt. Taylor Wolford in the NCO category and Senior Airman Maria Sornsin was named Airman of the Year.

“We are extremely proud of these Airmen and their continued dedication to excellence and service to our state and nation,” said Col. Mitch R. Johnson, 119th Wing commander. “Their contributions to the NDANG ensure that the Happy Hooligans’ outstanding reputation is maintained and enhanced throughout the U.S. Air Force and Department of Defense.”