119th Wing Accomplishments

Happy Hooligans have a proud record of accomplishments over the years. Among the many unit awards, the Hughes Trophy and the USAF Daedalian Maintenance Trophy are special standouts, presented on the basis of an Air Force wide competition to the single most deserving unit. 

In 1994, the Hooligans won the Hughes Trophy for the second time. The only F-16 unit to win the award, the 119th is one of only two Air National Guard units to have captured the Hughes Trophy, and the only Air National Guard unit to win the award twice, winning it for the first time in 1975. 

In addition to the Hughes Trophy in 1975, the unit was also presented the USAF Daedalian Maintenance Trophy (which the unit has won twice). It was the first time the two awards were presented to the same unit, and the first time either of these trophies had been
awarded to a Reserve Component unit. 

The 119th has performed impressively in the William Tell competition, a world-wide weapons meet at Tyndall AFB, Florida. The unit's most recent win occurred in October 1994. This was the third time the Hooligans had won the overall tournament, winning it in 1970 and 1972. The unit also won the F-4 division in 1986. The 119th has competed in the event a total of nine times, including the combined Air National Guard team in 1996, merging both F-15's and F-16's into a unified combat unit, drawn from the North Dakota and Oregon Air National Guard units. 

The 119th Wing has won the U.S. Air Force Outstanding Unit Award 12 times. The award is given for exceptionally meritorious service or outstanding achievement that clearly sets the recipient above and apart from similar units. 

In addition, the following are recent awards presented to the Hooligans: The John J. Pesch Flying safety award 6 times; the U.S. Air Force Flight Safety Award 26 times; the 1994 Winston P. Wilson Trophy for the most outstanding ANG unit with jet fighters or reconnaissance aircraft (the second time in the unit's history); the 1994 Air National Guard Supply Effectiveness Award for promoting maximum supply efficiency and outstanding supply activities; the 1994 William W. Spruance Safety Award for the Air National Guard unit which makes the most significant contributions towards accident prevention; the American Petroleum Institute Award three times for the Air National Guard's top fuels element in, 1995, 2002 and 2004; and an incredible flying safety record of 145,000 flight hours in fighters without a class A accident dating back over 33 years.